Gate 1 travel italy

Florence Italy-what to see in a day-prices, tips and advice


Not for nothing have they been a World Heritage Site since 1997. A little more than ten kilometers long along the coast in a first class scenic route. Quite frankly, we did not want to choose any of them separately. They are to be contemplated in unison, like an orchestra formed by several instruments.

If we continue down the west coast of the Tyrrhenian Sea heading south, we reach Tuscany. We are not going to discover this well-known Italian region now. It is a must for anyone who loves roads, scenery and gastronomy. Between the cities of Siena and Florence, we find this charming walled town of tall medieval towers where time seems to have frozen.

The region of Umbria is not as well known as Tuscany but it is well worth a visit. In fact, they share the same type of landscape: elongated fields dotted with slender cypress trees, isolated farms in the plains, medieval walled villages, succulent cuisine (in Umbria you can eat a magnificent sausage)… In short, it has nothing to envy to its neighbor. Well, yes, maybe the sea. However, Umbria has one of the most beautiful lakes in Italy: the Trasimeno.


It is born on the Hill of the Sun, on the right bank of the Tiber River. It was founded by the Sarsins, then passed into the hands of the Etruscans who made it one of the most important cities of Etruria. The city had a strategic position, due to its location on the top of the hill from where a large part of the surrounding territory could be seen.

In the Middle Ages, when the Roman Empire disappeared, Italy was invaded by Goths, Byzantines and Longobards, and Perugia also lost its freedom, remaining in the hands of the Byzantines. But a few decades later, it was already the seat of a Longobard duchy, without yet acquiring the importance of its neighbor Spoleto.

Its true autonomy was difficult. In 1376 they rebelled against the Papacy and threw out the Vicar: this led to the prohibition of autonomy in their government and they had to depend on the Church in 1403.

Perugia is very ancient: already at the time when Rome was almost born, the current capital of Umbria and ancient Etruscan city had 7 gates, among the most important for its grandeur was the “Porta Pulchra” or “Gate of Augustus”.

Reggio Calabria, Italy || I traveled to the South of Italy

For many U.S. travelers, the development means no longer having to worry about the hassle of testing before returning to the U.S., or the cost and burden of staying abroad to quarantine and wait for a negative result if a pre-travel test comes back positive.

For months, such organizations had been calling for the testing requirement to be eliminated, as it has been in Canada and the United Kingdom since March, as well as in most countries in Europe. Following Friday’s news of the rule’s end, the American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) and the U.S. Travel Association (USTA) were among the groups issuing statements applauding the move.

AHLA President and CEO Chip Rogers described it as a “significant victory for hotels and the travel industry as a whole” in a statement released Friday, calling the requirement an outdated one that creates a “chilling effect” on inbound international travel.

What to do in FLORENCE Italy | 13 Unmissable Wonders

If you are a citizen of the EU, EEA or Switzerland, you can still travel to the UK on vacation or for short stays without needing a visa.  In order to enter the UK, you will only need a valid passport, which will need to be valid for the duration of your stay in the country.

Based on the new points-based system, if you are an EU, EEA or Swiss citizen, you can continue to travel to the UK on vacation or for short stays without needing a visa and in most cases you can stay for up to a maximum of 6 months.

If you are an EU, EEA or Swiss national and the reason for your trip is to work or study in the UK, you need to make sure you are eligible, as you may need to apply for a visa online before entering the UK. More information about visiting the UK if you are an EU, EEA or Swiss citizen.

As part of this phased program until 2025, the Government is introducing an electronic system by the end of 2024 for travel authorization as one of the measures taken to ensure that, before traveling, those coming to the UK have permission to do so. We recommend that you follow the information closely as details of these arrangements will be made available in due course.

Rate this post