Canadians traveling to russia

Canada and Ukraine


Premier Doug Ford and Mayor John Tory among 61 Canadians banned from entering RussiaPosted On 22 Apr 2022By : adminComment: Off Ontario Premier Doug Ford (right) and Toronto Mayor John Tory. File photo.

ST EDITION.- The Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced that, Ontario Premier Doug Ford and Toronto Mayor John Tory are among the Canadians indefinitely banned from traveling to Russia.

Both the premier and the mayor join a list headed by Canada’s Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Foreign Minister Mélanie Joly, Defense Minister Anita Anand and other party leaders: Conservative Party interim leader Candice Bergen, NDP leader Jagmeet Singh, Bloc Quebecois leader Yves-Francois Blanchet and Green Party leader Elizabeth May, among others who are barred from Russian territory.

The new sanctions by the Russian Foreign Ministry apply to federal government officials, several premiers, military experts and journalists from Canada who are “directly involved in the development, confirmation and implementation of the Russophobic course of the ruling regime in Canada.”

Sanctions against russia

Japan “strongly condemns” Putin’s position, “which infringes on Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity in violation of international law,” Kishida declared, then warned of further sanctions “if the situation worsens”.AustraliaAustralian Prime Minister Scott Morrison declared that Australia “will always stand up to bullies, and we will stand up to Russia alongside all our allies,” before announcing his own sanctions against the Kremlin: he will start by imposing travel restrictions and economic sanctions on eight members of the Security Council of the Russian Federation. It is an institution headed by Putin, and has 12 members. Among others, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov.

Australia will always stand up to bullies, and we will stand up to Russia alongside all our alliesScott Morrison, Australian Prime MinisterAustralia will also ban the separatist regions of Donetsk and Luhansk from trade in several sectors, including transport, energy, telecommunications, oil, gas, and mineral reserves. In addition, Australians will be banned from doing business with the banks Rossiya, Promsvyazbank, IS, Genback, and the Black Sea Bank.

How to stop russia

Actually it is always the same standard document, consisting of 2 parts: a “voucher of services”=”voucher” (in English or Russian) plus a “confirmation of reception of foreign tourist”=”confirmation of accommodation booking” =”podtverzhdenie” (in Russian). This document is issued by a Russian travel agency authorized by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to issue it or a hotel entitled to do so. In most cases this document is arranged when you book your accommodation in Russia (but it is not automatic, you have to do it specially), i.e. when booking any type of accommodation, do not forget to ask about it (ask for “visa support”) before booking. There are also travel or visa agencies that manage it as an additional service. They provide a copy by fax or in PDF format. The visa will be issued exactly for the dates of stay indicated in the letter of invitation. Normally it is not required to present a reservation of air or train tickets to apply for the visa (you can read all the requirements on their website). The visa will be affixed to a page of your passport.


Skip to main contentGo to footerRussian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov.Photo: Reuters / Sergei KarpukhinRCIPublished: 9 June 2021 14:33Russia’s Foreign Ministry announced June 7 that it has banned several Canadian officials, including Justice Minister David Lametti, from traveling to that country because of their “anti-Russian activities.” In a statement, a Russian ministry spokesman said Canadian Minister Lametti; Royal Canadian Mounted Police Director Brenda Lucki; Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs Dominic LeBlanc; and several government officials, including the top Department of National Defense official, Jody Thomas, are banned from travel to Russia because they have shown inappropriate and counterproductive activity in support of the ultra-nationalist regime in Ukraine, as well as their support for other Russophobic forces in the Baltic countries.

Russian authorities argue that the nine banned individuals, including Marci Surkes, a senior advisor to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, and Rear Admiral Scott Bishop, commander of the Canadian Forces Intelligence Command, have contributed to the degradation of bilateral relations and interfered in Russia’s internal affairs.

Rate this post