Travel bans to south africa

Southern African nations face bans on the use of


The South African leader called for the restrictions to be reversed as soon as possible because they would do little or nothing to stop cases of Omicron that have already been detected around the world in places such as the Netherlands, Denmark and Australia.

Several countries have blacklisted South Africa and its neighbors for travel after the World Health Organization (WHO) found that Omicron was a “variant of concern,” meaning it is potentially more contagious than others.

None of the bars had travel bans

“The Commission will propose, in close coordination with the Member States, to activate the emergency brake to stop air travel from the southern African region due to the worrying variant B.1.1.529,” wrote the president.

The Italian Minister of Health, Roberto Speranza, signed the order banning the entry of citizens who have passed through South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Namibia. Mozambique, Namibia and Swaziland.

The British government, meanwhile, has acted “extremely quickly” to introduce a ban from Friday to flights from six African countries with an approach focused on “security” to the new variant of the coronavirus detected in South Africa, explained today the Minister of Transport, Grant Shapps.

The London Executive bans from 12 GMT air services from six African destinations, including South Africa, due to the spread of the B.1.1.529 variant, which could make current vaccines less effective.

New strain: The world begins to close borders

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa has again voiced his dissatisfaction with the internationally imposed travel bans on South Africa, which he considers “unscientific and discriminatory”.

Ramaphosa is immersed in a high-level tour of the western region of the African continent and, during his stop in Nigeria, he thanked the President of that nation, Muhammadu Buhari, for the message his government is sending by holding the meeting.

Ramaphosa has detailed that the presidents of Ivory Coast, Ghana or Senegal, nations that he will visit during this tour, also move in the same terms, reports the South African portal News24.

“This is a global pandemic, and overcoming it requires us to collaborate and work together as a collective,” said the South African leader, appealing to the twinning of Africa and the international community.

Ramaphosa’s visit comes at a time when most of the international community has reinforced its measures to prevent the spread of the coronavirus, especially by banning travel to South Africa and other countries in the southern region of the continent due to the appearance of a new variant of the virus, Omicron.

Traditional dances and typical African tribal houses

In Malta, travel to and from regions with identified cases of the variant will be temporarily banned from midnight Saturday, Chris Fearne, Malta’s deputy prime minister and health minister, said in a tweet Friday.

Israel recorded its first case of the new B.1,1,529 coronavirus variant and the country has announced that seven countries in southern Africa will be placed on a red list. This means that returnees from those countries must quarantine themselves in a designated hotel.

On Thursday night, Prime Minister Naftali Bennett said he had accepted the Health Ministry’s recommendations to place South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini on a new red list.

Travelers from South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Namibia and Lesotho will have to remain in quarantine in government-provided facilities for 10 days from midnight local time on Saturday, November 27.

Rate this post