South africa travel ban to uk

International news

“The Commission will propose, in close coordination with the Member States, to activate the emergency brake to stop air travel from the southern African region due to the worrying variant B.1.1.529,” the President wrote.

The Italian Minister of Health, Roberto Speranza, signed the order banning the entry of citizens who have passed through South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Namibia. Mozambique, Namibia and Swaziland.

The British government, meanwhile, has acted “extremely quickly” to introduce a ban from Friday to flights from six African countries with an approach focused on “security” to the new variant of the coronavirus detected in South Africa, explained today the Minister of Transport, Grant Shapps.

The London Executive bans from 12 GMT air services from six African destinations, including South Africa, due to the spread of the B.1.1.529 variant, which could make current vaccines less effective.

The controversial talk between Jada Pinkett and Will Smith

Health Minister Sajid Javid also presented the measure to MPs, at the start of a parliamentary debate in which Boris Johnson’s government is seeking to win the backing of dozens of rebel lawmakers from his own party to approve new health measures against the spread of Mycron.Javid explained that the “red list” is being abolished because “it is now less effective in curbing the incursion of Mycron from abroad.” On Monday, the minister said the new variant already accounts for 20% of new cases in the country and 40% in London.Related topicsShare this storyView comments

Joe Biden announced travel restrictions for

“The European Commission will propose, in close coordination with Member States, to activate the emergency brake to stop air travel from the African region due to the worrying B.1.1.529 variant,” Der Leyen said.

According to the British Health Security Agency, among its 30 mutations, the new variant has a peak protein that is radically different from that of the original coronavirus on which antigens against the disease are based.

For their part, Austrian authorities closed their borders Friday to travelers arriving by plane from seven southern African countries because of the potential danger of the new variant.

“We are reacting quickly and consistently,” said Austrian Prime Minister Alexander Schallenberg, saying the measure will come into force at midnight next week. The countries included in the ban are the same as those of Italy.


Seven of those twelve countries maintained at that time sovereignty claims in different sectors of Antarctica. Argentina was one of them, claiming sovereignty in the so-called “Argentine Antarctic Sector”, defined by the 60º South parallel as Northern limit, and the meridians 25º and 74º West longitude. In turn, the claims of Chile and the United Kingdom overlap with the Argentine claim. The United Kingdom’s claim completely covers the sector claimed by Argentina, and the Chilean claim partially overlaps. Since 1947, Chile and Argentina have recognized each other’s sovereignty rights in Antarctica, pending the delimitation of the overlapping part of their claims.

For their part, the United States and the Soviet Union reserved their grounds for making territorial claims to the Antarctic region in the future. The remaining non-claimant states do not recognize claims to any portion of Antarctica.

In order to prevent the issue of claims from spreading, the Treaty provides that, while it is in force, no new claims to sovereignty in Antarctica shall be made, nor shall existing claims be extended.

Rate this post
Categorías Africa